To the end of bachelorhood!

People who have known me for quite some time know that I have always been commitment-phobic. Don’t get me wrong. I have always been faithful to the (3) men I’ve been in a relationship with, but the idea of spending the rest of my life with the first two always got me rattled. Probably deep down inside I knew they weren’t “the one” for me. All this until I met Sam. A couple of months into our relationship I knew he was the one. But to my closest friends, it came as somewhat of a shock when we announced we’re engaged. And the last weekend a few of them threw me a great bachelorette party to usher in the new era. 

N called me and asked if I was free Saturday and Sunday. I was free the entire weekend as Sam had his bachelor party the same day. His bachelor party really involved the guys going for lunch at Saravana Bhavan, followed by watching a Tamil movie – Vishwaroopam (which he strongly disliked) and then an evening of bowling at Bowlmor Lanes in Times Square, with a dinner at Mamoun’s Falafel. When he announced his plan to me, I casually asked, “Umm and when are you going to the strip club?”. I received a very dirty stare in response and I let it drop. And then he asks me, “Do you want to come?”. Sigh. The idea of a bachelor party is lost on him. 

Anyway so I met the girls for lunch which N whipped up. Consisted of kadhi khichdi, rice, aloo parathas with achar and raita, homemade spinach-paneer samosas and the pièce de résistance  was her “paneer patiala takatak”. All in all a sumptuous spread. After stuffing ourselves with generous helpings of the delicious food, we left for an afternoon spa session. Had a wonderful time pampering ourselves with mani-pedi, followed with a deep conditioning and hot oil treatment for the hair and ended with coloring and styling. 

Feeling refreshed, we went back to her place, decked ourselves in our evening wear, covered it all up with thick winter wear as an afterthought (it was -15 outside) and left for dinner. Dinner was at a Sri Lankan restaurant called Sigiri in SoHo which K picked. The food there was delicious! Even after our super heavy lunch at N’s, we had Dhal Vade and Sri Lankan spring rolls as appetizers, Kotthu Roti and egg Adai appam with dhal curry in the main course. The restaurant was BYOB, so we carried a Merlot red wine with us. 

After dinner and drinks we headed to this elusive dessert place called Spot Dessert again in SoHo. We’d heard of it a lot from many people so decided it was the right day to try it out. And boy were we glad! It was a teeny tiny place, almost a hole in the wall. We ordered a honey toast thing with ice-cream and strawberries (oh so delish), a green tearamisu (passable, not for people who dislike green tea) and P wanted to stay simple so ordered a plain vanilla with chocolate pearls and syrup (simple and awesome). Washed it down with some vietnamese coffee (strong and ideal for a cold day). Bottomline – if you happen to visit NYC, you have got to try this place. Check it out here – http://www.spotdessertbar.com/

After dessert we headed back to N’s place. She recently became the proud owner of a 60 inch TV, so put some movie (I don’t even remember which) and I went straight to sleep. All in all a great bachelorette party, filled with great food and awesome conversation with some of my best friends! Oh and here’s a pic of some of the dessert we ordered there.

Image

4 thoughts on “To the end of bachelorhood!

Leave a Reply

